Medical Assistance for Long-Term Care Services Asset Eligibility for a Long-Term Care Spouse

An asset evaluation is required to determine asset eligibility when a long-term care (LTC) spouse requests Medical Assistance for Long-Term Care Services (MA-LTC).

An LTC spouse is a married person who:

Resides in a long term care facility (LTCF) or receives Elderly Waiver program services, and is expected to remain in the LTCF or receive EW services for at least 30 consecutive days; and

Has a spouse who does not reside in a LTCF and does not receive waiver services from Brain Injury (BI), Community Alternative Care (CAC), Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI), Developmental Disability (DD), or Elderly Waiver ( EW) programs.

The asset assessment determines the amount of assets protected for the community spouse, known as a Community Spouse Asset Allowance (CSAA). A community spouse is someone who is married to an LTC spouse.  A community spouse can receive MA or services through the Alternative Care (AC) program.

The asset assessment is only required when the LTC spouse’s basis of eligibility is MA for People Who Are Age 65 or Older or People Who Are Blind or Have a Disability (MA-ABD). An asset assessment is not required when the LTC spouse’s basis of eligibility is MA for Families with Children and Adults (MA-FCA) or when a person enrolled in MA for Employed Persons with Disabilities (MA-EPD) requests MA-LTC.

This section discusses the asset assessment process that determines the CSAA.

Legal Citations

United States Code, title 42, Section 1396r-5(h)

Minnesota Statutes 256B.059

  1. MA-LTC Asset Assessment

  2. MA-LTC Community Spouse Asset Allowance