Medical Assistance for People Receiving Services at the Center for Victims of Torture Bases of Eligibility

Minnesota provides Medical Assistance (MA) to certain groups of people as allowed under law. These groups are referred to as a basis of eligibility. A person’s basis of eligibility determines the non-financial criteria and financial methodology used to determine MA eligibility.

MA for people receiving services at the Center for Victims of Torture (MA-CVT) has one basis of eligibility. MA-CVT enrollees may not have another MA basis of eligibility.

People who an MA-CVT basis of eligibility may also be eligible for Emergency Medical Assistance (EMA) if they have a medical emergency. This allows the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) to claim federal reimbursement for the medical emergency costs.

Beginning and Ending Bases of Eligibility

The MA-CVT basis of eligibility begins the month the person began receiving CVT services. The MA-CVT basis of eligibility ends the month after the month the enrollee stops receiving CVT services.

Change in Basis of Eligibility for Enrollees

A change in circumstances may affect an MA-CVT enrollee's basis of eligibility. A person whose CVT basis of eligibility ends is evaluated for other Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) when coverage ends.

Additional information may be required to determine continued eligibility under another basis or for other MHCPs. Some changes that may affect an enrollee's basis of eligibility include, but are not limited to:

  • CVT services end

  • Change in immigration status

  • Pregnancy

Legal Citations

Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 4