This is an archived document and does not contain the most current information for this topic. Use this document for reference only.

2.5.3 Emergency Medical Assistance (Archive)

Medical Assistance (MA) eligibility is determined using a variety of non-financial, financial and post-eligibility requirements. Emergency MA (EMA) is for certain people with a medical emergency who are not otherwise eligible for MA.

Noncitizens, including noncitizens granted deferred action under Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), who are not eligible for federally funded Medical Assistance (MA) may be eligible for Emergency Medical Assistance (EMA) if they have a medical emergency. This includes people in any of the following groups:

  • People ineligible for federally funded MA due to immigration status or date of entry who meet all other MA program requirements.

  • People with an immigration status of undocumented.

People enrolled in MA for people receiving services from the Center for Victims of Torture (MA-CVT) who have a medical emergency may be eligible for EMA. This allows the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) to claim federal reimbursement for the emergency medical costs.

In addition to EMA requirements, a person must meet the eligibility requirements that match their basis of eligibility. People are in one of the following eligibility groups:

This subchapter includes policies that apply to EMA and links to policies that apply to all MA programs and all Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) programs.

  1. EMA General Requirements

    1. MHCP Applications

    2. EMA Mandatory Verifications

    3. MA Responsibilities

    4. MHCP Retroactive Eligibility

    5. MHCP Rights

  2. EMA Non-Financial Eligibility

    1. MA-ABD Bases of Eligibility

    2. MA-ABD Certification of Disability

    3. MA-FCA Bases of Eligibility

    4. MA County Residency

    5. EMA Emergency Medical Conditions

    6. MA Living Arrangement

    7. MHCP State Residency

  3. EMA Financial Eligibility

    1. MA-ABD Financial Eligibility

    2. MA-FCA Financial Eligibility

    3. MA under the TEFRA Option

  4. EMA Post-Eligibility

    1. MA Begin and End Dates

    2. MA Benefit Recovery

    3. MHCP Change in Circumstances

    4. MA Cooperation

    5. MA Cost Sharing

    6. MHCP Fraud

    7. EMA Health Care Delivery

    8. MHCP Inconsistent Information

    9. MA Qualifying Health Coverage

    10. MA Referral for Other Benefits

    11. MA-ABD Renewals

    12. MA-FCA Renewals

Legal Citation

Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 136b

Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 4