Medical Assistance

2.1 Overview

Medical Assistance (MA) eligibility has a variety of non-financial, financial and post-eligibility requirements. Some MA policies apply to all MA applicants and enrollees. For example, residency requirements are the same for all types of MA. Other eligibility requirements are different, depending on the applicant’s basis of eligibility. For example, financial eligibility requirements are different.

This chapter includes policies that apply to all or most types of MA and links to policies that apply to all Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP). Eligibility policy that applies to a specific type of MA is located in the relevant MA chapter.

Topics covered in this chapter are:

  1. MA General Requirements

    1. MA Mandatory Verifications

    2. MA Responsibilities

    3. MHCP Rights

  2. MA Non-Financial Eligibility

    1. MA Bases of Eligibility

    2. MA Citizenship and Immigration Status

    3. MA County Residency

    4. MA Living Arrangement

    5. MA Social Security Number

    6. MHCP State Residency

  3. MA Financial Eligibility

    1. MA Asset Limit

    2. MA Income Limit

  4. MA Post-Eligibility

    1. MA Benefit Recovery

    2. MHCP Change in Circumstances

    3. MA Cooperation

    4. MA Cost Sharing

    5. MHCP Fraud

    6. MHCP Inconsistent Information

    7. MA Qualifying Health Care Coverage

    8. MA Referral for Other Benefits