Medical Assistance Bases of Eligibility

Minnesota provides Medical Assistance (MA) to certain groups of people as allowed under law. These groups are referred to as a basis of eligibility. A person’s basis of eligibility determines the non-financial criteria and financial methodology used to determine MA eligibility.

An applicant or enrollee’s basis of eligibility determines what MA eligibility rules apply. See the specific policies below for definitions of each basis and the begin and end dates for each basis of eligibility.

  1. MA Families With Children and Adults (MA-FCA) Bases of Eligibility

  2. MA for People Who Are Age 65 or Older and People Who Are Blind or Have a Disability (MA-ABD) Bases of Eligibility

  3. MA Breast or Cervical Cancer (MA-BC) Basis of Eligibility

  4. MA Center for Victims of Torture (MA-CVT) Basis of Eligibility

  5. MA Northstar Adoption Assistance Care Bases of Eligibility

  6. MA Northstar Title IV-E Foster Care and Title IV-E Kinship Assistance

Multiple Bases of Eligibility

People may have more than one basis of eligibility. A person’s countable income, asset limits, cost sharing, service delivery options and benefits may differ depending on the eligibility basis used. The county, tribal or state servicing agency must allow a person with multiple bases of eligibility to have eligibility determined under the basis that best meets their needs.

Change in Basis of Eligibility for Enrollees

A change in circumstances may affect an MA enrollee's basis of eligibility. People who lose eligibility under one basis are redetermined under another basis without interruption in their coverage. Additional information may be requested to determine continued eligibility under another basis. Some changes that may affect an enrollee's basis of eligibility include, but are not limited to:

  • Age

  • Household composition

  • Disability Certification

  • Pregnancy

Legal Citations

Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 435.2 to 435.350

Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.404

Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.907

Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.911

Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.04

Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.055

Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.08